Why have just 1 recipe for something?

28 12 2011

In the metaphysical, we often say that there are multiple ways of getting something done. The same counts for cooking.

Take chicken wings as an example. I have 2 recipes that I love. First, is my original recipe of just buying some McCormick Buffalo Wing seasoning and doing the shake-n-bake thing with it. Problem is that it is loaded with sodium. Since I’ve switched to an even lower sodium diet than ever, I can now feel my body having a negative reaction to the amount of sodium in it (over 300mg!). All well and good, that’s why I have my other recipe that just calls for me to bake chicken plain and then at the end, mix it with Frank’s Hot Sauce. Check the ingredients list on Frank’s Hot Sauce – it’s all sorts of healthy for ya. It’s no substitute for a fruit or vegetable, but is still full of goodness. So I use that recipe instead.

Both taste awesome in different ways, so it’s not like I’m replacing chicken wings with… some tofu crap with rice cakes or something stupid like that.

So, there’s today’s simple practical tip for healthier food intake: have choices when it comes to recipes you like for creating a food item you love consuming.

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 01 2012
Nic

Try marinating it in Frank’s Red Hat Sauce. Use a ziplock and let it soak up for a few hours, then put it in the oven to bake. It really seals in the flavor.

7 01 2012
Dave

Never tried that, sounds like it should work… it’s on my to-do list now 🙂

22 01 2012
Dave

That recipe worked amazingly 🙂

22 06 2012
Wow, that really stretched that meal! « Pagans promoting Healthy Active Tendencies (PHAT)

[…] As some of you may know, I recently had a stint in the hospital.  More of that to come on our next recording of PCP, but one of the things I’ve needed to do is get more iron and potassium in my diet to replenish what I lost as part of my hospital stay.  I learned that Spinach has a bit of iron in it and, well I’ve come to like Spinach salads after many years of exclusively being an iceberg lettuce person.  I decided to make a small side salad to go with some chicken wings I made.  By the way, thanks Nic for the recipe! […]

Leave a Reply

